About the Southern African Customs Union (SACU) and the SACU Common External Tariff (CET)

The Southern African Customs Union (SACU) comprises the Customs administrations of the following Southern African Development Community (SADC), namely the:

Republic of Botswana,

Kingdom of Eswatini (previously Swaziland),

Kingdom of Lesotho,

Republic of Namibia, and

Republic of South Africa.

The Customs Tariff of the South Africa is also the Common External Tariff (CET) of the Southern African Customs Union (SACU). It means that there are no Customs (import) duties applicable when goods are imported from one SACU Country to another, but that the Customs duty rates from any country which is not a Member of the SACU would be identical in any SACU Country.