Terms & Acronyms


African Growth and Opportunity Act (AGOA) enacted by the US Government to allow duty-free access into the United States of qualifying products that have been produced in certain sub-Saharan countries (including South Africa). Products include apparel and footwear, wine, certain motor vehicle components and agricultural products, chemicals, steel and many other products.


A Revised Generalised System of Preferences was adapted in 2012 and entered into force on 1 January 2014.

In terms of the new GSP regime, South Africa is one (1) of the countries excluded from further enjoying benefits offered under the GSP-EU regime.

As a result of consultations between South Africa and the European Union (EU), the EU agreed to continue to apply the current GSP preferential tariff treatments under the provisions of Article 19(3) of the Trade, Development and Cooperation Agreement (TDCA – 1999/753//EC) between the European Union (EU) and the Republic of South Africa.

Clients will require EUR 1 movement certificates instead of the current Form A in order to qualify for the preferential tariff treatment.


An agreement between South Africa and the European Union called the Trade Development and Cooperation Agreement with the European Community.


A Free Trade Agreement between the Southern African Customs Union (SACU) and the European Free Trade Association (Iceland, Liechtenstein, Switzerland and Norway).


Trade Treaty between Southern African Development Community Member States.

Not all SADC Countries are part of the Trade Treaty, and Countries which have not signed the agreement does not qualify for SADC rates when there goods are imported into South Africa.              

Send an Enquiry

Contact Us


Leon Marais: +27 76 627 1100